Skip to main content
Inland Revenue

Tax Policy

PUBLISHED 23 May 2001

Select committee calls for submissions on legislative changes

The closing date for submissions on proposed legislation on recently announced changes to GST and to the rules on transfers of overpaid tax is 6 June, Finance and Expenditure Committee Mark Peck announced today. The proposed legislation, which will be considered in the course of the select committee's examination of the taxation bill currently before Parliament, is available on-line. For more information, see FEC press release.

Mark Peck MP
Finance and Expenditure Committee


Finance and Expenditure Committee calls for submissions on GST changes and the transfer of overpaid tax

The Finance and Expenditure Committee has called for submissions on proposed changes to the GST treatment of non-residents, announced Mark Peck MP, the Chairperson of the Finance and Expenditure Committee. The committee is also calling for submissions on proposed amendments relating to the transfer of over-paid tax, which the Minister of Revenue has referred to the committee with the GST proposals. The submissions are due by 5 pm, 6 June 2001 and will be considered in the course of the committee's examination of the Taxation (Annual Rates, Taxpayer Assessment and Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill. The proposed amendments can be viewed on our web site at [link no longer available].

The committee requires 20 copies of each submission. Those wishing to include any information of a private or personal nature in a submission should first discuss this with the clerk of the committee, as submissions are usually released to the public by the committee. Those wishing to appear before the committee to speak to their submissions should state this clearly and provide a daytime telephone contact number. For further guidance on making a submission, our publication Making a Submission to a Parliamentary Select Committee can be found on our web site at

Submissions should be addressed as follows:

Julian Kersey
Finance and Expenditure Committee Secretariat
Parliament House

Contact for further details:

Mark Peck (Chairperson) on (04) 471 9578 or
Julian Kersey on (04) 471 9538 or [email protected]