Skip to main content
Inland Revenue

Tax Policy

20 December 2017 - Sir Michael Cullen welcomes TWG members

Press releases

Issue date: 20 December 2017

Version note: Issued by Hon Sir Michael Cullen, Chair of the Tax Working Group.

Copyright: © Crown Copyright, Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

"The Tax Working Group has an important task ahead of it so I am extremely pleased to welcome a great team for the job. It gives me great confidence for the future of our tax system and economy," Sir Michael Cullen, Chair of the Tax Working Group said today.

The names of the 10 additional Working Group members were announced today by Finance Minister Grant Robertson and Revenue Minister Stuart Nash.

"Our tax system has been reviewed before. But the economic landscape is changing rapidly, with new technology and new business models, and New Zealand society continues to evolve too. New Zealand needs a fair and efficient tax system that will support a sustainable revenue base and economy," said Sir Michael.

Sir Michael said that the purposes of the Tax Working Group will be best served by being open-minded to a range of options.

"We bring no preconceived views to the discussion. All ideas must stand on their own merits," he said.

"I also take this opportunity to announce the appointment of Andrea Black, tax specialist and commentator, as the independent advisor to the Group," Sir Michael said. "Andrea brings a wealth of tax experience to the role and will add another valuable perspective."

The Tax Working Group will hold its initial meeting in January and will make its recommendations to the Government by February 2019. The Group has a dedicated website:, which will be updated as work progresses.

"We need to make sure that the tax system works well now and in the future for all New Zealanders – small businesses, large corporates, trusts and individuals. The range of skills of the people appointed makes this Group well-suited to the task," Sir Michael said.


Related content

Related internal URL:

Terms of Reference: Tax Working Group

Last updated: 13 March 2018