

NEW LEGISLATION > ORDER IN COUNCIL COMMENTARY

Tax Administration (Reportable Jurisdictions for Application of CRS Standard) Amendment Regulations 2025

SL 2025/15

Issued: 17 March 2025

This Order in Council adds Armenia, Jordan, Rwanda, Senegal, and Tunisia to New Zealand's existing list of 106 reportable jurisdictions under the Common Reporting Standard.

FIRST PUBLISHED

March 2025 by Policy, Inland Revenue, PO Box 2198, Wellington 6140.

Tax Administration (Reportable Jurisdictions for Application of CRS Standard) Amendment Regulations 2025



This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence. In essence, you are free to copy, distribute and adapt the work, as long as you attribute the work to the Crown and abide by the other licence terms.

The document is available at <u>https://www.taxpolicy.ird.govt.nz/publications/2025/oic-sl-2025-15</u>

Inland Revenue can provide an alternate version of this material if requested. Please cite this document's title, website address, or PDF file name when you email a request to <u>policy.webmaster@ird.govt.nz</u>.



Order

The Tax Administration (Reportable Jurisdictions for Application of CRS Standard) Amendment Regulations 2025 was made on 24 February 2025 and comes into force on 31 March 2025. It updates New Zealand's existing list of 106 reportable jurisdictions by adding Armenia, Jordan, Rwanda, Senegal, and Tunisia.

Background

Reportable jurisdictions are relevant to the Common Reporting Standard (CRS), which was enacted in New Zealand in 2017 as part of New Zealand's implementation of the G20/OECD Standard for Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information in Tax Matters (AEOI). Reportable jurisdictions are territories to which Inland Revenue will provide certain information on their residents that is reported to Inland Revenue by financial institutions, in accordance with the CRS rules.

Pursuant to section 226D of the Tax Administration Act 1994 (the Act), additions and deletions to the list of reportable jurisdictions must be made by Order in Council.

Effective date

Armenia, Jordan, Rwanda, Senegal, and Tunisia will be reportable jurisdictions for reporting periods beginning on or after 1 April 2024.

Further information

A full list of reportable jurisdictions can be found on the Inland Revenue website and the Order in Council can be found at:

https://www.legislation.govt.nz/regulation/public/2025/0015/latest/LMS1023364.html

